Head to head
Alation vs DataHub for AI agents
Short answer
On our default weights DataHub scores 8.02 and Alation scores 6.60. DataHub scores higher on Agent access, Automation, Answer checks, Pricing and Deployment; Alation scores higher on Governance and Semantics. They tie on Lineage and Integrations.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
How do Alation and DataHub compare on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Alation | DataHub | Higher score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 7 | 10 | DataHub |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 7 | 7 | Tie |
| Automated context build | 13% | 6 | 8 | DataHub |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 | 7 | Alation |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 8 | 7 | Alation |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 5 | 7 | DataHub |
| Integration breadth | 10% | 9 | 9 | Tie |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 3 | 7 | DataHub |
| Deployment options | 8% | 4 | 10 | DataHub |
Why: Agent access to context
Alation: Ontologies can be published as an MCP server, but that feature was in early access as of 17 September 2026.
Source: Alation AIOS: Ontologies
DataHub: MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, with Claude, Cursor, Cortex, Genie, CrewAI, LangChain and Agent Development Kit named.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Cross-stack lineage
Alation: Builds lineage from SQL queries, scripts and query logs; AI Governance adds agent lineage tracing.
Source: Alation connectors
DataHub: Lineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards; column-level depth is not stated on the pages read.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Automated context build
Alation: Agents auto-draft ontologies, but that feature is in early access; generally available pieces focus on semantic models and AI governance.
Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products
DataHub: Context Intelligence extracts metric definitions and join patterns "in days, not months" and flags context drift.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Governance agents can use
Alation: AI Governance (generally available) traces agent lineage and connects to agent registries; Governed Collections bring documents under governance.
Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products
DataHub: Access and policy, data contracts and data quality, with RBAC, SSO and SOC 2 Type II; persona-scoped agent context is not described.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Business definitions and metrics
Alation: Semantic Model Mastering (generally available) ingests, governs and syncs Databricks and Snowflake semantic models; Ontologies use OWL, RDF and SHACL.
Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products
DataHub: Holds metrics and extracts metric definitions automatically; not a dedicated semantic layer.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Answer quality checks
Alation: Agent lineage tracing shows what an agent touched; testing agent answers is not described.
Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products
DataHub: Detects context drift and routes it to experts; DataHub cites nearly 2X agent accuracy at Miro.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Integration breadth
Alation: Lists 120+ pre-built connectors.
Source: Alation connectors
DataHub: 100+ pre-built connectors, plus an open-source project used by more than 3,000 organizations.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Pricing transparency
Alation: Contact form only; Alation says new products are included in its all-inclusive pricing.
Source: Alation pricing
DataHub: Open-source core is free; an AWS Marketplace listing shows $75,000 for 12 months and up to 20 monthly active users; no list price on datahub.com.
Why: Deployment options
Alation: Cloud or self-hosted deployment is not stated on the pages read.
Source: Alation homepage
DataHub: Open source from a single node to hybrid and decentralized setups, or managed SaaS.
Source: DataHub Series B announcement
Which hops from warehouse to agent does each document?
Alation: documents 4 of 5 stages
DataHub: documents 5 of 5 stages
How do pricing and deployment compare?
| Alation | DataHub | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Data catalog (AI operating system) | Context platform (open-source core) |
| Agent interface | Ontologies published as an MCP server (early access); Console natural-language routing (early access) | MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, Ask DataHub |
| Lineage | Lineage from SQL queries, scripts and query logs, plus agent lineage tracing | Lineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards |
| Deployment | Not stated on the pages we read. | Open source from a single node to cloud-hosted, hybrid and decentralized setups, or DataHub Cloud as managed SaaS. |
| Pricing | Not published The pricing page leads to a contact form. Alation says the new AIOS products are part of its all-inclusive pricing with no new contracts required. Source: Alation pricing | DataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users. |
| Entry price | Not published | $75,000 for 12 months (AWS Marketplace, up to 20 monthly active users) |
Which should you choose?
Choose Alation if
- you connect many sources and tools
- agents must respect certification and access rules
- Enterprises already on Alation that want semantic models, ontologies and agent governance in one place
Choose DataHub if
- you need many ways for agents to reach context
- you need self-hosting, open source or in-warehouse deployment
- Teams that want an open-source core or self-hosting, many agent interfaces and a large connector base
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for AI agents, Alation or DataHub?
On our default weights DataHub scores 8.02 and Alation scores 6.60. The better fit depends on which criteria matter most to you; the weight-your-own page lets you change the weights.
Which costs less, Alation or DataHub?
Alation: no prices published. DataHub: DataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users. We do not compare total cost because most of these prices are not published.
Can Alation and DataHub be used together?
They cover different layers (Catalog and governance and Context platform), so they can sit side by side. The pages we read do not describe a direct integration between them.