Platform review
Context platformDataHub review: an open-source context platform for AI agents
Short answer
DataHub pairs an open-source core with DataHub Cloud, a managed context platform that reaches agents through MCP, an Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs. It scores 8.02 and ranks 1 of 9. Column-level lineage depth and persona-scoped agent context are not stated on the pages we read.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
Rank 1 of 9 on default weights. Change the weights
What does DataHub do for AI agents?
DataHub, formerly Acryl Data, offers DataHub Core as open source and DataHub Cloud as a managed context platform that unifies technical metadata, business knowledge and documentation for people and agents.
- Agent interface
- MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, Ask DataHub
- Lineage
- Lineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards
- Deployment
- Open source from a single node to cloud-hosted, hybrid and decentralized setups, or DataHub Cloud as managed SaaS.
- Best for
- Teams that want an open-source core or self-hosting, many agent interfaces and a large connector base
Which hops from warehouse to agent does DataHub document?
- Documented on the vendor's pages
- Not documented on the pages we read
1Warehouse and lakehouse: Documented
Snowflake and 100+ connectors.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
2Transformation (dbt, ETL): Documented
dbt projects feed Context Intelligence.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
3BI and semantic logic: Documented
Looker and BI dashboards.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
4Governance and access rules: Documented
Access and policy, data contracts, RBAC.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
5Delivery to agents (MCP or API): Documented
MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills and APIs.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
What are DataHub's key features?
- Context Intelligence extracts metric definitions and join patterns from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards, and routes context drift to subject experts.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
- Context Hub for expert review, plus metrics, lineage, impact analysis, data contracts, data quality, and access and policy.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
- 100+ pre-built connectors across warehouses, BI tools and orchestrators.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
- SOC 2 Type II, a 99.5% uptime SLA, RBAC and SSO.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
What does DataHub claim?
What does DataHub cost?
DataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users.
Entry price: $75,000 for 12 months (AWS Marketplace, up to 20 monthly active users)
How does DataHub score on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to contextHighest in set | 15% | 10 / 10 | MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, with Claude, Cursor, Cortex, Genie, CrewAI, LangChain and Agent Development Kit named. Source: DataHub Cloud context platform |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 7 / 10 | Lineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards; column-level depth is not stated on the pages read. Source: DataHub Cloud context platform |
| Automated context build | 13% | 8 / 10 | Context Intelligence extracts metric definitions and join patterns "in days, not months" and flags context drift. Source: DataHub Cloud context platform |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 7 / 10 | Access and policy, data contracts and data quality, with RBAC, SSO and SOC 2 Type II; persona-scoped agent context is not described. Source: DataHub Cloud context platform |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 7 / 10 | Holds metrics and extracts metric definitions automatically; not a dedicated semantic layer. Source: DataHub Cloud context platform |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 7 / 10 | Detects context drift and routes it to experts; DataHub cites nearly 2X agent accuracy at Miro. Source: DataHub Cloud context platform |
| Integration breadthTied highest | 10% | 9 / 10 | 100+ pre-built connectors, plus an open-source project used by more than 3,000 organizations. Source: DataHub Cloud context platform |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 7 / 10 | Open-source core is free; an AWS Marketplace listing shows $75,000 for 12 months and up to 20 monthly active users; no list price on datahub.com. |
| Deployment optionsHighest in set | 8% | 10 / 10 | Open source from a single node to hybrid and decentralized setups, or managed SaaS. Source: DataHub Series B announcement |
Where does it score well, and where does it fall short?
Scores well
Highest in set on: Agent access, Integrations and Deployment.
- Many ways for agents to reach context: MCP, an Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, with Claude, Cursor, Snowflake Cortex, Databricks Genie, CrewAI and LangChain named.
- An open-source core that runs from a single node to hybrid setups.
- A marketplace list price exists, which is rare in this category.
Falls short
- Column-level lineage depth and persona-scoped context for agents are not stated on the pages we read.
- Direct pricing is not published; the only figure is a marketplace listing.
- Answer checking is described as drift detection and expert routing rather than testing agent answers.
Key facts
- Company
- A $35M Series B led by Bessemer Venture Partners was announced on 21 May 2025, for $65M in total. Palo Alto, California; CEO Swaroop Jagadish, CTO Shirshanka Das.
Source: DataHub Series B announcement
- Customers named
- Named on DataHub's pages: Pinterest, Miro and Netflix.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
How does DataHub compare head to head?
- DataHub 8.02, Euno 7.64DataHub vs Euno
- DataHub 8.02, Atlan 7.25DataHub vs Atlan
- DataHub 8.02, Alation 6.60DataHub vs Alation
- DataHub 8.02, Collibra 6.27DataHub vs Collibra
- DataHub 8.02, AtScale 5.87DataHub vs AtScale
- DataHub 8.02, Cube 5.86DataHub vs Cube
- DataHub 8.02, Select Star 5.77DataHub vs Select Star
- DataHub 8.02, Honeydew 4.98DataHub vs Honeydew
Frequently asked questions
What does DataHub cost?
DataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users.
Does DataHub have an MCP server?
Yes. DataHub lists MCP alongside an Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs.
Can DataHub be self-hosted?
Open source from a single node to cloud-hosted, hybrid and decentralized setups, or DataHub Cloud as managed SaaS.
Read next
- The ranking
All nine scored platforms.
- Scoring model
How each score is set.
- Weight your own
Re-rank with your priorities.
- Platform-native options
Snowflake Horizon and Databricks Unity Catalog.