Head to head
AtScale vs DataHub for AI agents
Short answer
On our default weights DataHub scores 8.02 and AtScale scores 5.87. DataHub scores higher on Agent access, Lineage, Automation, Answer checks, Integrations, Pricing and Deployment; AtScale scores higher on Governance and Semantics.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
How do AtScale and DataHub compare on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | AtScale | DataHub | Higher score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 9 | 10 | DataHub |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 2 | 7 | DataHub |
| Automated context build | 13% | 4 | 8 | DataHub |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 | 7 | AtScale |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 9 | 7 | AtScale |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 5 | 7 | DataHub |
| Integration breadth | 10% | 5 | 9 | DataHub |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 4 | 7 | DataHub |
| Deployment options | 8% | 5 | 10 | DataHub |
Why: Agent access to context
AtScale: An MCP server with named tools gives agents certified metrics by name; seven agent clients are named.
DataHub: MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, with Claude, Cursor, Cortex, Genie, CrewAI, LangChain and Agent Development Kit named.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Cross-stack lineage
AtScale: A semantic layer, not a catalog; cross-stack lineage is not described.
Source: AtScale homepage
DataHub: Lineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards; column-level depth is not stated on the pages read.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Automated context build
AtScale: Describes a 30-day workshop from kickoff to results; automated discovery is not described.
DataHub: Context Intelligence extracts metric definitions and join patterns "in days, not months" and flags context drift.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Governance agents can use
AtScale: Per-agent OAuth identity, row- and column-level security and a log of every call.
DataHub: Access and policy, data contracts and data quality, with RBAC, SSO and SOC 2 Type II; persona-scoped agent context is not described.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Business definitions and metrics
AtScale: A universal semantic layer serving certified metrics to BI and agents.
Source: AtScale homepage
DataHub: Holds metrics and extracts metric definitions automatically; not a dedicated semantic layer.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Answer quality checks
AtScale: Every call is logged, and AtScale cites a preliminary result of twice the accuracy on BIRD-Interact.
DataHub: Detects context drift and routes it to experts; DataHub cites nearly 2X agent accuracy at Miro.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Integration breadth
AtScale: Agent clients are listed, but no data source count was read.
DataHub: 100+ pre-built connectors, plus an open-source project used by more than 3,000 organizations.
Source: DataHub Cloud context platform
Why: Pricing transparency
AtScale: The pricing model is published (deployed semantic objects, no per-seat or per-query fees) but no prices.
Source: AtScale pricing
DataHub: Open-source core is free; an AWS Marketplace listing shows $75,000 for 12 months and up to 20 monthly active users; no list price on datahub.com.
Why: Deployment options
AtScale: Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated.
DataHub: Open source from a single node to hybrid and decentralized setups, or managed SaaS.
Source: DataHub Series B announcement
Which hops from warehouse to agent does each document?
AtScale: documents 4 of 5 stages
DataHub: documents 5 of 5 stages
How do pricing and deployment compare?
| AtScale | DataHub | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Universal semantic layer | Context platform (open-source core) |
| Agent interface | AtScale MCP server (list_models, explore_columns, focus_columns, get_sml_skills, run_query, get_outbound_queries); AtScale Ava for chat users | MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, Ask DataHub |
| Lineage | Not described (a semantic layer, not a catalog) | Lineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards |
| Deployment | Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated on the pages we read. | Open source from a single node to cloud-hosted, hybrid and decentralized setups, or DataHub Cloud as managed SaaS. |
| Pricing | Not published Consumption pricing by deployed semantic objects, in Standard and Enterprise editions, with no per-seat or per-query fees. No prices are published. Source: AtScale pricing | DataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users. |
| Entry price | Not published | $75,000 for 12 months (AWS Marketplace, up to 20 monthly active users) |
Which should you choose?
Choose AtScale if
- you need many ways for agents to reach context
- consistent metric definitions are the main gap
- Enterprises that need certified metrics served to many agent clients under per-agent security
Choose DataHub if
- you need many ways for agents to reach context
- you need self-hosting, open source or in-warehouse deployment
- Teams that want an open-source core or self-hosting, many agent interfaces and a large connector base
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for AI agents, AtScale or DataHub?
On our default weights DataHub scores 8.02 and AtScale scores 5.87. The better fit depends on which criteria matter most to you; the weight-your-own page lets you change the weights.
Which costs less, AtScale or DataHub?
AtScale: no prices published. DataHub: DataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users. We do not compare total cost because most of these prices are not published.
Can AtScale and DataHub be used together?
They cover different layers (Semantic layer and Context platform), so they can sit side by side. The pages we read do not describe a direct integration between them.