Platform review
Context platformAtlan review: a context layer for AI agents
Short answer
Atlan positions itself as the context layer for AI, with 110 listed connectors, AI agents that draft context for human certification, and an MCP server. It scores 7.25 and ranks 3 of 9. It publishes no prices and does not state column-level lineage or a self-hosted option on the pages we read.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
Rank 3 of 9 on default weights. Change the weights
What does Atlan do for AI agents?
Atlan calls itself the context layer for AI: an Enterprise Data Graph of catalog, governance, lineage, quality and glossary that AI agents bootstrap, people certify, and tools reach through SQL, APIs, an SDK and the Atlan MCP server.
- Agent interface
- Atlan MCP server, SQL, APIs, SDK
- Lineage
- Relationship-level lineage in the data graph; column level not stated on the connectors page
- Deployment
- SaaS; Atlan states it never queries the rows in your tables. A self-hosted option is not stated.
- Best for
- Large data teams that want a wide connector catalog with AI-drafted context and human certification
Which hops from warehouse to agent does Atlan document?
- Documented on the vendor's pages
- Not documented on the pages we read
1Warehouse and lakehouse: Documented
Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift, Databricks and other warehouses.
Source: Atlan connectors
2Transformation (dbt, ETL): Documented
dbt, Fivetran, Matillion, Airflow and Dagster.
Source: Atlan connectors
3BI and semantic logic: Documented
Tableau, Power BI, Looker and Sigma.
Source: Atlan connectors
4Governance and access rules: Documented
Governance, glossary and certification in the data graph.
Source: Atlan homepage
5Delivery to agents (MCP or API): Documented
The Atlan MCP server.
Source: Atlan homepage
What are Atlan's key features?
- Bootstrap: AI agents generate descriptions and link terms, with a Metrics Generator, Semantic Views and an Ontology Generator.
Source: Atlan homepage
- 110 connectors on the connectors page, plus an open-source App SDK (Apache 2.0) for custom connectors in "days, not weeks".
Source: Atlan connectors
- Context served through SQL, APIs, an SDK and the Atlan MCP server, with evals and traces.
Source: Atlan homepage
- A Context Lakehouse described as Iceberg-native and open (2024), and Context Agents with a Context Engineering Studio (2026).
Source: Atlan about
What does Atlan claim?
What does Atlan cost?
Not published The pricing page leads to a Talk to Sales form.
Entry price: Not published
Source: Atlan pricing
How does Atlan score on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 9 / 10 | Serves context through SQL, APIs, an SDK and the Atlan MCP server. Source: Atlan homepage |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 7 / 10 | Lineage is part of the data graph and its FAQ describes relationship-level lineage; column level is not stated on the connectors page. Source: Atlan connectors |
| Automated context buildTied highest | 13% | 9 / 10 | AI agents draft descriptions, terms, metrics and semantic views; Atlan states the first 80% is ready before human review and most connectors go live within minutes. Source: Atlan homepage |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 / 10 | Governance, glossary and certification sit in the same graph with human certification; agent-scoped access is not described on the pages read. Source: Atlan homepage |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 7 / 10 | Metrics Generator, Semantic Views and Ontology Generator create business definitions from metadata. Source: Atlan homepage |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 7 / 10 | Lists evals and traces when activating context for agents, without detail on how answers are checked. Source: Atlan homepage |
| Integration breadthTied highest | 10% | 9 / 10 | Lists 110 connectors and an open-source App SDK for custom ones. Source: Atlan connectors |
| Pricing transparencyTied lowest | 8% | 2 / 10 | Pricing page leads to a sales form; no prices or tiers. Source: Atlan pricing |
| Deployment optionsTied lowest | 8% | 4 / 10 | SaaS; a self-hosted option is not stated. Source: Atlan homepage |
Where does it score well, and where does it fall short?
Scores well
Highest in set on: Automation and Integrations.
- 110 connectors listed across warehouses, BI, ETL, semantic layers, ERP and CRM, plus an open SDK for custom ones.
- AI drafts the context and people certify it, with a clear human review step.
- Serves context to agents through an MCP server as well as SQL, APIs and an SDK.
Falls short
Lowest in set on: Pricing and Deployment.
- No prices or tiers are published; pricing goes through sales.
- Column-level lineage is not stated on the connectors page, and agent-scoped access is not described on the pages we read.
- No self-hosted option is stated.
Key facts
- Company
- Launched publicly in 2020. Series C of $105M led by GIC and Meritech Capital in May 2024; total funding over $200 million.
Source: Atlan about
- Customers named
- Quoted on Atlan's pages: Workday and Fox.
Source: Atlan about
How does Atlan compare head to head?
- Atlan 7.25, DataHub 8.02Atlan vs DataHub
- Atlan 7.25, Euno 7.64Atlan vs Euno
- Atlan 7.25, Alation 6.60Atlan vs Alation
- Atlan 7.25, Collibra 6.27Atlan vs Collibra
- Atlan 7.25, AtScale 5.87Atlan vs AtScale
- Atlan 7.25, Cube 5.86Atlan vs Cube
- Atlan 7.25, Select Star 5.77Atlan vs Select Star
- Atlan 7.25, Honeydew 4.98Atlan vs Honeydew
Frequently asked questions
What does Atlan cost?
Not published. The pricing page leads to a Talk to Sales form.
Does Atlan have an MCP server?
Yes. Atlan serves context through the Atlan MCP server as well as SQL, APIs and an SDK.
Can Atlan be self-hosted?
SaaS; Atlan states it never queries the rows in your tables. A self-hosted option is not stated.
Read next
- The ranking
All nine scored platforms.
- Scoring model
How each score is set.
- Weight your own
Re-rank with your priorities.
- Platform-native options
Snowflake Horizon and Databricks Unity Catalog.