Head to head
Atlan vs AtScale for AI agents
Short answer
On our default weights Atlan scores 7.25 and AtScale scores 5.87. Atlan scores higher on Lineage, Automation, Answer checks and Integrations; AtScale scores higher on Semantics, Pricing and Deployment. They tie on Agent access and Governance.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
How do Atlan and AtScale compare on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Atlan | AtScale | Higher score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 9 | 9 | Tie |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 7 | 2 | Atlan |
| Automated context build | 13% | 9 | 4 | Atlan |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 | 8 | Tie |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 7 | 9 | AtScale |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 7 | 5 | Atlan |
| Integration breadth | 10% | 9 | 5 | Atlan |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 2 | 4 | AtScale |
| Deployment options | 8% | 4 | 5 | AtScale |
Why: Agent access to context
Atlan: Serves context through SQL, APIs, an SDK and the Atlan MCP server.
Source: Atlan homepage
AtScale: An MCP server with named tools gives agents certified metrics by name; seven agent clients are named.
Why: Cross-stack lineage
Atlan: Lineage is part of the data graph and its FAQ describes relationship-level lineage; column level is not stated on the connectors page.
Source: Atlan connectors
AtScale: A semantic layer, not a catalog; cross-stack lineage is not described.
Source: AtScale homepage
Why: Automated context build
Atlan: AI agents draft descriptions, terms, metrics and semantic views; Atlan states the first 80% is ready before human review and most connectors go live within minutes.
Source: Atlan homepage
AtScale: Describes a 30-day workshop from kickoff to results; automated discovery is not described.
Why: Governance agents can use
Atlan: Governance, glossary and certification sit in the same graph with human certification; agent-scoped access is not described on the pages read.
Source: Atlan homepage
AtScale: Per-agent OAuth identity, row- and column-level security and a log of every call.
Why: Business definitions and metrics
Atlan: Metrics Generator, Semantic Views and Ontology Generator create business definitions from metadata.
Source: Atlan homepage
AtScale: A universal semantic layer serving certified metrics to BI and agents.
Source: AtScale homepage
Why: Answer quality checks
Atlan: Lists evals and traces when activating context for agents, without detail on how answers are checked.
Source: Atlan homepage
AtScale: Every call is logged, and AtScale cites a preliminary result of twice the accuracy on BIRD-Interact.
Why: Integration breadth
Atlan: Lists 110 connectors and an open-source App SDK for custom ones.
Source: Atlan connectors
AtScale: Agent clients are listed, but no data source count was read.
Why: Pricing transparency
Atlan: Pricing page leads to a sales form; no prices or tiers.
Source: Atlan pricing
AtScale: The pricing model is published (deployed semantic objects, no per-seat or per-query fees) but no prices.
Source: AtScale pricing
Why: Deployment options
Atlan: SaaS; a self-hosted option is not stated.
Source: Atlan homepage
AtScale: Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated.
Which hops from warehouse to agent does each document?
Atlan: documents 5 of 5 stages
AtScale: documents 4 of 5 stages
How do pricing and deployment compare?
| Atlan | AtScale | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Context layer (metadata platform) | Universal semantic layer |
| Agent interface | Atlan MCP server, SQL, APIs, SDK | AtScale MCP server (list_models, explore_columns, focus_columns, get_sml_skills, run_query, get_outbound_queries); AtScale Ava for chat users |
| Lineage | Relationship-level lineage in the data graph; column level not stated on the connectors page | Not described (a semantic layer, not a catalog) |
| Deployment | SaaS; Atlan states it never queries the rows in your tables. A self-hosted option is not stated. | Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated on the pages we read. |
| Pricing | Not published The pricing page leads to a Talk to Sales form. Source: Atlan pricing | Not published Consumption pricing by deployed semantic objects, in Standard and Enterprise editions, with no per-seat or per-query fees. No prices are published. Source: AtScale pricing |
| Entry price | Not published | Not published |
Which should you choose?
Choose Atlan if
- you need many ways for agents to reach context
- you want context built with little manual work
- Large data teams that want a wide connector catalog with AI-drafted context and human certification
Choose AtScale if
- you need many ways for agents to reach context
- consistent metric definitions are the main gap
- Enterprises that need certified metrics served to many agent clients under per-agent security
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for AI agents, Atlan or AtScale?
On our default weights Atlan scores 7.25 and AtScale scores 5.87. The better fit depends on which criteria matter most to you; the weight-your-own page lets you change the weights.
Which costs less, Atlan or AtScale?
Atlan: no prices published. AtScale: no prices published. We do not compare total cost because most of these prices are not published.
Can Atlan and AtScale be used together?
They cover different layers (Context platform and Semantic layer), so they can sit side by side. The pages we read do not describe a direct integration between them.