Platform review
Semantic layerAtScale review: certified metrics for AI agents over MCP
Short answer
AtScale is a universal semantic layer whose MCP server gives agents certified metrics by name, with per-agent OAuth identity and row- and column-level security. It scores 5.87 and ranks 6 of 9. It does not cover lineage across the stack, and its prices are not published.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
Rank 6 of 9 on default weights. Change the weights
What does AtScale do for AI agents?
AtScale is a universal semantic layer for AI and analytics. Its MCP server lets agents ask for certified metrics by name, while queries compute inside your data platform.
- Agent interface
- AtScale MCP server (list_models, explore_columns, focus_columns, get_sml_skills, run_query, get_outbound_queries); AtScale Ava for chat users
- Lineage
- Not described (a semantic layer, not a catalog)
- Deployment
- Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated on the pages we read.
- Best for
- Enterprises that need certified metrics served to many agent clients under per-agent security
Which hops from warehouse to agent does AtScale document?
- Documented on the vendor's pages
- Not documented on the pages we read
1Warehouse and lakehouse: Documented
Queries compute in your data platform.
2Transformation (dbt, ETL): Not documented
Transformation tools are not described on the pages we read.
3BI and semantic logic: Documented
Semantic layer for analytics and AtScale Ava.
Source: AtScale homepage
4Governance and access rules: Documented
Per-agent OAuth identity, row- and column-level security.
5Delivery to agents (MCP or API): Documented
AtScale MCP server.
What are AtScale's key features?
- MCP server tools: list_models, explore_columns, focus_columns, get_sml_skills, run_query and get_outbound_queries.
- Named clients: Claude, ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, Codex, LangGraph and Google ADK.
- Per-agent OAuth identity, row- and column-level security, and every call logged.
- AtScale Ava for chat users.
What does AtScale claim?
What does AtScale cost?
Not published Consumption pricing by deployed semantic objects, in Standard and Enterprise editions, with no per-seat or per-query fees. No prices are published.
Entry price: Not published
Source: AtScale pricing
How does AtScale score on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 9 / 10 | An MCP server with named tools gives agents certified metrics by name; seven agent clients are named. |
| Cross-stack lineageTied lowest | 13% | 2 / 10 | A semantic layer, not a catalog; cross-stack lineage is not described. Source: AtScale homepage |
| Automated context buildTied lowest | 13% | 4 / 10 | Describes a 30-day workshop from kickoff to results; automated discovery is not described. |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 / 10 | Per-agent OAuth identity, row- and column-level security and a log of every call. |
| Business definitions and metricsTied highest | 12% | 9 / 10 | A universal semantic layer serving certified metrics to BI and agents. Source: AtScale homepage |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 5 / 10 | Every call is logged, and AtScale cites a preliminary result of twice the accuracy on BIRD-Interact. |
| Integration breadthTied lowest | 10% | 5 / 10 | Agent clients are listed, but no data source count was read. |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 4 / 10 | The pricing model is published (deployed semantic objects, no per-seat or per-query fees) but no prices. Source: AtScale pricing |
| Deployment options | 8% | 5 / 10 | Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated. |
Where does it score well, and where does it fall short?
Scores well
Highest in set on: Semantics.
- Per-agent identity with row- and column-level security for agent queries.
- Many named agent clients.
- A pricing model without per-seat or per-query fees.
Falls short
Lowest in set on: Lineage, Automation and Integrations.
- No catalog and no lineage across the stack.
- No prices are published.
- The stated path to results is a 30-day workshop, slower than the day-one or same-day starts the context platforms describe.
Key facts
- Company
- Not covered in our sources.
- Customers named
- Named on AtScale's pages: Vodafone Portugal (with Celfocus) and Blue Yonder.
How does AtScale compare head to head?
- AtScale 5.87, DataHub 8.02AtScale vs DataHub
- AtScale 5.87, Euno 7.64AtScale vs Euno
- AtScale 5.87, Atlan 7.25AtScale vs Atlan
- AtScale 5.87, Alation 6.60AtScale vs Alation
- AtScale 5.87, Collibra 6.27AtScale vs Collibra
- AtScale 5.87, Cube 5.86AtScale vs Cube
- AtScale 5.87, Select Star 5.77AtScale vs Select Star
- AtScale 5.87, Honeydew 4.98AtScale vs Honeydew
Frequently asked questions
What does AtScale cost?
Not published. Consumption pricing by deployed semantic objects, in Standard and Enterprise editions, with no per-seat or per-query fees. No prices are published.
Does AtScale have an MCP server?
Yes. The AtScale MCP server exposes tools such as list_models and run_query.
Can AtScale be self-hosted?
Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated on the pages we read.
Read next
- The ranking
All nine scored platforms.
- Scoring model
How each score is set.
- Weight your own
Re-rank with your priorities.
- Platform-native options
Snowflake Horizon and Databricks Unity Catalog.