Head to head
AtScale vs Cube for AI agents
Short answer
On our default weights AtScale scores 5.87 and Cube scores 5.86. AtScale scores higher on Agent access, Governance and Answer checks; Cube scores higher on Automation, Pricing and Deployment. They tie on Lineage, Semantics and Integrations.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
How do AtScale and Cube compare on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | AtScale | Cube | Higher score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 9 | 8 | AtScale |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 2 | 2 | Tie |
| Automated context build | 13% | 4 | 5 | Cube |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 | 5 | AtScale |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 9 | 9 | Tie |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 5 | 2 | AtScale |
| Integration breadth | 10% | 5 | 5 | Tie |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 4 | 9 | Cube |
| Deployment options | 8% | 5 | 8 | Cube |
Why: Agent access to context
AtScale: An MCP server with named tools gives agents certified metrics by name; seven agent clients are named.
Cube: Governed data reaches agents through MCP and APIs; the free plan includes an MCP server.
Source: Cube pricing
Why: Cross-stack lineage
AtScale: A semantic layer, not a catalog; cross-stack lineage is not described.
Source: AtScale homepage
Cube: A semantic layer and BI platform, not a catalog; cross-stack lineage is not described.
Source: Cube homepage
Why: Automated context build
AtScale: Describes a 30-day workshop from kickoff to results; automated discovery is not described.
Cube: A semantic model agent is listed; automated discovery and documentation across the stack are not described.
Source: Cube pricing
Why: Governance agents can use
AtScale: Per-agent OAuth identity, row- and column-level security and a log of every call.
Cube: Describes governed data for agents; certification and sensitivity rules are not detailed.
Source: Cube homepage
Why: Business definitions and metrics
AtScale: A universal semantic layer serving certified metrics to BI and agents.
Source: AtScale homepage
Cube: Built on a semantic layer that people and agents query alike.
Source: Cube homepage
Why: Answer quality checks
AtScale: Every call is logged, and AtScale cites a preliminary result of twice the accuracy on BIRD-Interact.
Cube: Checks on agent answers are not described on the pages read.
Source: Cube homepage
Why: Integration breadth
AtScale: Agent clients are listed, but no data source count was read.
Cube: Works on cloud data platforms and names agent clients; no connector count was read.
Source: Cube homepage
Why: Pricing transparency
AtScale: The pricing model is published (deployed semantic objects, no per-seat or per-query fees) but no prices.
Source: AtScale pricing
Cube: Published: Free, Starter $40 and Premium $80 per developer per month, Enterprise custom.
Source: Cube pricing
Why: Deployment options
AtScale: Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated.
Cube: Open-source core (21,018 GitHub stars shown on cube.dev) alongside managed Cube Cloud.
Source: Cube homepage
Which hops from warehouse to agent does each document?
AtScale: documents 4 of 5 stages
Cube: documents 4 of 5 stages
How do pricing and deployment compare?
| AtScale | Cube | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Universal semantic layer | Semantic layer (agentic analytics) |
| Agent interface | AtScale MCP server (list_models, explore_columns, focus_columns, get_sml_skills, run_query, get_outbound_queries); AtScale Ava for chat users | MCP server, APIs, Analytics Chat API |
| Lineage | Not described (a semantic layer, not a catalog) | Not described (a semantic layer, not a catalog) |
| Deployment | Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated on the pages we read. | Cube Core is open source (cube.dev shows 21,018 GitHub stars); Cube Cloud is the managed platform. |
| Pricing | Not published Consumption pricing by deployed semantic objects, in Standard and Enterprise editions, with no per-seat or per-query fees. No prices are published. Source: AtScale pricing | Free ("free forever", includes an MCP server for AI agents, analytics chat and a semantic model agent); Starter $40 per developer per month; Premium $80 per developer per month; Enterprise custom. Source: Cube pricing |
| Entry price | Not published | Free; paid plans from $40 per developer per month |
Which should you choose?
Choose AtScale if
- you need many ways for agents to reach context
- consistent metric definitions are the main gap
- Enterprises that need certified metrics served to many agent clients under per-agent security
Choose Cube if
- consistent metric definitions are the main gap
- you want published prices before talking to sales
- Teams whose main gap is consistent metrics for agents and BI, and who want published pricing and an open-source core
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for AI agents, AtScale or Cube?
On our default weights AtScale scores 5.87 and Cube scores 5.86. The better fit depends on which criteria matter most to you; the weight-your-own page lets you change the weights.
Which costs less, AtScale or Cube?
AtScale: no prices published. Cube: Free ("free forever", includes an MCP server for AI agents, analytics chat and a semantic model agent); Starter $40 per developer per month; Premium $80 per developer per month; Enterprise custom. We do not compare total cost because most of these prices are not published.
Can AtScale and Cube be used together?
They cover the same layer, so most teams would pick one. The pages we read do not describe an integration between them.