Platform review
Catalog and governanceAlation review: the AI operating system for data agents
Short answer
Alation has expanded its catalog into the Alation Intelligence Operating System, with generally available AI governance and semantic model mastering and several agent features in early access. It scores 6.60 and ranks 4 of 9. Its 120+ connectors are a strength; prices and deployment options are not published.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
Rank 4 of 9 on default weights. Change the weights
What does Alation do for AI agents?
Alation, which says it pioneered the data catalog market, now sells the Alation Intelligence Operating System (AIOS): the catalog plus AI governance, ontologies, semantic model mastering and governed document collections.
- Agent interface
- Ontologies published as an MCP server (early access); Console natural-language routing (early access)
- Lineage
- Lineage from SQL queries, scripts and query logs, plus agent lineage tracing
- Deployment
- Not stated on the pages we read.
- Best for
- Enterprises already on Alation that want semantic models, ontologies and agent governance in one place
Which hops from warehouse to agent does Alation document?
- Documented on the vendor's pages
- Not documented on the pages we read
1Warehouse and lakehouse: Documented
120+ connectors; Snowflake and Databricks semantic models ingested.
Source: Alation connectors
2Transformation (dbt, ETL): Documented
Lineage from SQL queries and scripts.
Source: Alation connectors
3BI and semantic logic: Not documented
BI coverage is not described on the pages we read.
4Governance and access rules: Documented
AI Governance and Governed Collections.
Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products
5Delivery to agents (MCP or API): Documented
Ontologies published as an MCP server (early access).
Source: Alation AIOS: Ontologies
What are Alation's key features?
- AI Governance (generally available): agent lineage tracing and registry connectors for Amazon Bedrock, SageMaker, Databricks MLflow, Microsoft Copilot Studio, Microsoft Foundry and Snowflake Cortex.
Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products
- Semantic Model Mastering (generally available): ingests Databricks and Snowflake semantic models, enriches and governs them, and syncs them back.
Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products
- Ontologies (early access): OWL and RDF concepts, SHACL constraints and Turtle export, drafted by agents from policies, glossary and lineage, and publishable as an MCP server.
Source: Alation AIOS: Ontologies
- 120+ pre-built connectors, lineage from SQL queries and scripts, query log processing, column-level profiling and the Compose SQL editor.
Source: Alation connectors
What does Alation claim?
What does Alation cost?
Not published The pricing page leads to a contact form. Alation says the new AIOS products are part of its all-inclusive pricing with no new contracts required.
Entry price: Not published
Source: Alation pricing
How does Alation score on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 7 / 10 | Ontologies can be published as an MCP server, but that feature was in early access as of 17 September 2026. Source: Alation AIOS: Ontologies |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 7 / 10 | Builds lineage from SQL queries, scripts and query logs; AI Governance adds agent lineage tracing. Source: Alation connectors |
| Automated context build | 13% | 6 / 10 | Agents auto-draft ontologies, but that feature is in early access; generally available pieces focus on semantic models and AI governance. Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 / 10 | AI Governance (generally available) traces agent lineage and connects to agent registries; Governed Collections bring documents under governance. Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 8 / 10 | Semantic Model Mastering (generally available) ingests, governs and syncs Databricks and Snowflake semantic models; Ontologies use OWL, RDF and SHACL. Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 5 / 10 | Agent lineage tracing shows what an agent touched; testing agent answers is not described. Source: Alation press release: AIOS expansion with six products |
| Integration breadthTied highest | 10% | 9 / 10 | Lists 120+ pre-built connectors. Source: Alation connectors |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 3 / 10 | Contact form only; Alation says new products are included in its all-inclusive pricing. Source: Alation pricing |
| Deployment optionsTied lowest | 8% | 4 / 10 | Cloud or self-hosted deployment is not stated on the pages read. Source: Alation homepage |
Where does it score well, and where does it fall short?
Scores well
Highest in set on: Integrations.
- 120+ pre-built connectors and a long track record as a catalog.
- Semantic Model Mastering keeps Snowflake and Databricks semantic models governed and in sync.
- AI Governance traces which data agents touched across several agent platforms.
Falls short
Lowest in set on: Deployment.
- Its MCP path and several new products (Ontologies, Intelligent Feeds, Console, Governed Collections) were in early access as of 17 September 2026.
- No prices are published, and deployment options are not stated on the pages we read.
- Testing of agent answers is not described.
Key facts
- Company
- Alation's homepage cites five Leader placements in the Gartner Magic Quadrant for Metadata Management (2017 to 2020 and 2025).
Source: Alation homepage
- Customers named
- Quoted on Alation's connectors page: VillageCare.
Source: Alation connectors
How does Alation compare head to head?
- Alation 6.60, DataHub 8.02Alation vs DataHub
- Alation 6.60, Euno 7.64Alation vs Euno
- Alation 6.60, Atlan 7.25Alation vs Atlan
- Alation 6.60, Collibra 6.27Alation vs Collibra
- Alation 6.60, AtScale 5.87Alation vs AtScale
- Alation 6.60, Cube 5.86Alation vs Cube
- Alation 6.60, Select Star 5.77Alation vs Select Star
- Alation 6.60, Honeydew 4.98Alation vs Honeydew
Frequently asked questions
What does Alation cost?
Not published. The pricing page leads to a contact form. Alation says the new AIOS products are part of its all-inclusive pricing with no new contracts required.
Does Alation have an MCP server?
In early access. Alation's Ontologies can be published as an MCP server; Ontologies was in early access as of 17 September 2026.
Can Alation be self-hosted?
Not stated on the pages we read.
Read next
- The ranking
All nine scored platforms.
- Scoring model
How each score is set.
- Weight your own
Re-rank with your priorities.
- Platform-native options
Snowflake Horizon and Databricks Unity Catalog.