Head to head
AtScale vs Honeydew for AI agents
Short answer
On our default weights AtScale scores 5.87 and Honeydew scores 4.98. AtScale scores higher on Agent access, Governance, Semantics and Answer checks; Honeydew scores higher on Pricing and Deployment. They tie on Lineage, Automation and Integrations.
By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published
Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.
How do AtScale and Honeydew compare on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | AtScale | Honeydew | Higher score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent access to context | 15% | 9 | 4 | AtScale |
| Cross-stack lineage | 13% | 2 | 2 | Tie |
| Automated context build | 13% | 4 | 4 | Tie |
| Governance agents can use | 13% | 8 | 6 | AtScale |
| Business definitions and metrics | 12% | 9 | 8 | AtScale |
| Answer quality checks | 8% | 5 | 2 | AtScale |
| Integration breadth | 10% | 5 | 5 | Tie |
| Pricing transparency | 8% | 4 | 9 | Honeydew |
| Deployment options | 8% | 5 | 6 | Honeydew |
Why: Agent access to context
AtScale: An MCP server with named tools gives agents certified metrics by name; seven agent clients are named.
Honeydew: Supports an AI analyst use case, but an MCP server was not confirmed on the pages read.
Source: Honeydew pricing
Why: Cross-stack lineage
AtScale: A semantic layer, not a catalog; cross-stack lineage is not described.
Source: AtScale homepage
Honeydew: A semantic layer, not a catalog; lineage is not described.
Source: Honeydew homepage
Why: Automated context build
AtScale: Describes a 30-day workshop from kickoff to results; automated discovery is not described.
Honeydew: Model changes are version-controlled in Git; automated discovery is not described.
Source: Honeydew homepage
Why: Governance agents can use
AtScale: Per-agent OAuth identity, row- and column-level security and a log of every call.
Honeydew: User identity propagation and native RBAC inside the warehouse.
Source: Honeydew homepage
Why: Business definitions and metrics
AtScale: A universal semantic layer serving certified metrics to BI and agents.
Source: AtScale homepage
Honeydew: A semantic layer for AI and BI with one shared data model.
Source: Honeydew homepage
Why: Answer quality checks
AtScale: Every call is logged, and AtScale cites a preliminary result of twice the accuracy on BIRD-Interact.
Honeydew: Checks on agent answers are not described.
Source: Honeydew homepage
Why: Integration breadth
AtScale: Agent clients are listed, but no data source count was read.
Honeydew: Standard adds unlimited BI integrations and Power BI Service; no source count was read.
Source: Honeydew pricing
Why: Pricing transparency
AtScale: The pricing model is published (deployed semantic objects, no per-seat or per-query fees) but no prices.
Source: AtScale pricing
Honeydew: Published per-user prices and platform fees, with a 14-day free trial on Standard.
Source: Honeydew pricing
Why: Deployment options
AtScale: Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated.
Honeydew: Processes data inside your warehouse using your LLM provider; no self-hosted product is described.
Source: Honeydew homepage
Which hops from warehouse to agent does each document?
AtScale: documents 4 of 5 stages
Honeydew: documents 3 of 5 stages
How do pricing and deployment compare?
| AtScale | Honeydew | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Universal semantic layer | Semantic layer for AI and BI |
| Agent interface | AtScale MCP server (list_models, explore_columns, focus_columns, get_sml_skills, run_query, get_outbound_queries); AtScale Ava for chat users | AI analyst use case; an MCP server was not confirmed on the pages we read |
| Lineage | Not described (a semantic layer, not a catalog) | Not described |
| Deployment | Queries compute inside your data platform; hosting options are not stated on the pages we read. | Processes data inside your data warehouse; a self-hosted product is not described. |
| Pricing | Not published Consumption pricing by deployed semantic objects, in Standard and Enterprise editions, with no per-seat or per-query fees. No prices are published. Source: AtScale pricing | Lite: $20 per user per month plus a platform fee from $500 per month. Standard: $30 per user per month, up to 50 users, plus a platform fee from $2,000 per month for 250, 750 or 1,500 active objects, with a 14-day free trial. Enterprise: custom. Source: Honeydew pricing |
| Entry price | Not published | $20 per user per month plus a platform fee from $500 per month |
Which should you choose?
Choose AtScale if
- you need many ways for agents to reach context
- consistent metric definitions are the main gap
- Enterprises that need certified metrics served to many agent clients under per-agent security
Choose Honeydew if
- you want published prices before talking to sales
- consistent metric definitions are the main gap
- Teams that want one semantic model shared by BI and an AI analyst, priced in the open
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for AI agents, AtScale or Honeydew?
On our default weights AtScale scores 5.87 and Honeydew scores 4.98. The better fit depends on which criteria matter most to you; the weight-your-own page lets you change the weights.
Which costs less, AtScale or Honeydew?
AtScale: no prices published. Honeydew: Lite: $20 per user per month plus a platform fee from $500 per month. Standard: $30 per user per month, up to 50 users, plus a platform fee from $2,000 per month for 250, 750 or 1,500 active objects, with a 14-day free trial. Enterprise: custom. We do not compare total cost because most of these prices are not published.
Can AtScale and Honeydew be used together?
They cover the same layer, so most teams would pick one. The pages we read do not describe an integration between them.