Skip to content
Best Data Catalogs mark: an unfinished lineage pathBest Data Catalogs

Head to head

DataHub vs Select Star for AI agents

Short answer

On our default weights DataHub scores 8.02 and Select Star scores 5.77. DataHub scores higher on Agent access, Governance, Semantics, Answer checks, Integrations, Pricing and Deployment; Select Star scores higher on Lineage. They tie on Automation.

By The Lineage Desk · Best Data Catalogs · Published

Desk research from public vendor pages. Editorial assessment.

DataHub rank 1 of 9

8.02 / 10

Select Star rank 8 of 9

5.77 / 10

How do DataHub and Select Star compare on each criterion?

CriterionWeightDataHubSelect StarHigher score
Agent access to context15%107DataHub
Cross-stack lineage13%78Select Star
Automated context build13%88Tie
Governance agents can use13%76DataHub
Business definitions and metrics12%76DataHub
Answer quality checks8%72DataHub
Integration breadth10%95DataHub
Pricing transparency8%72DataHub
Deployment options8%104DataHub
Why: Agent access to context

DataHub: MCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, with Claude, Cursor, Cortex, Genie, CrewAI, LangChain and Agent Development Kit named.

Source: DataHub Cloud context platform

Select Star: Offers an MCP Server for Data and Ask AI; agent clients are not named.

Source: Select Star homepage

Why: Cross-stack lineage

DataHub: Lineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboards; column-level depth is not stated on the pages read.

Source: DataHub Cloud context platform

Select Star: Cross-platform column-level lineage with ER diagrams.

Source: Select Star homepage

Why: Automated context build

DataHub: Context Intelligence extracts metric definitions and join patterns "in days, not months" and flags context drift.

Source: DataHub Cloud context platform

Select Star: Auto-generated documentation and semantic model generation; a customer quote describes setup in one morning.

Source: Select Star homepage

Why: Governance agents can use

DataHub: Access and policy, data contracts and data quality, with RBAC, SSO and SOC 2 Type II; persona-scoped agent context is not described.

Source: DataHub Cloud context platform

Select Star: Data Access Control and SOC 2; certification rules for agents are not described.

Source: Select Star homepage

Why: Business definitions and metrics

DataHub: Holds metrics and extracts metric definitions automatically; not a dedicated semantic layer.

Source: DataHub Cloud context platform

Select Star: Generates semantic models for Snowflake Cortex Analyst; no broader metric layer described.

Source: Select Star homepage

Why: Answer quality checks

DataHub: Detects context drift and routes it to experts; DataHub cites nearly 2X agent accuracy at Miro.

Source: DataHub Cloud context platform

Select Star: Checks on agent answers are not described on the pages read.

Source: Select Star homepage

Why: Integration breadth

DataHub: 100+ pre-built connectors, plus an open-source project used by more than 3,000 organizations.

Source: DataHub Cloud context platform

Select Star: Lineage is cross-platform, but no connector count or list was read.

Source: Select Star homepage

Why: Pricing transparency

DataHub: Open-source core is free; an AWS Marketplace listing shows $75,000 for 12 months and up to 20 monthly active users; no list price on datahub.com.

Source: AWS Marketplace: DataHub Cloud listing

Select Star: The pricing URL redirects to the homepage; no prices.

Source: Select Star pricing URL

Why: Deployment options

DataHub: Open source from a single node to hybrid and decentralized setups, or managed SaaS.

Source: DataHub Series B announcement

Select Star: SaaS, now part of Snowflake; plans outside Snowflake are not stated.

Source: Select Star homepage

Which hops from warehouse to agent does each document?

DataHub: documents 5 of 5 stages

DataHub context path: documents 5 of 5 stages.1Warehouse and lakehouse2Transformation (dbt, ETL)3BI and semantic logic4Governance and access rules5Delivery to agents (MCP or API)

Select Star: documents 3 of 5 stages

Select Star context path: documents 3 of 5 stages.1Warehouse and lakehouse2Transformation (dbt, ETL)3BI and semantic logic4Governance and access rules5Delivery to agents (MCP or API)

How do pricing and deployment compare?

DataHubSelect Star
TypeContext platform (open-source core)Metadata context platform (part of Snowflake)
Agent interfaceMCP, Agent Context Kit, Skills, APIs and SDKs, Ask DataHubMCP Server for Data, Ask AI
LineageLineage and impact analysis built from query logs, dbt projects and BI dashboardsColumn level, across platforms
DeploymentOpen source from a single node to cloud-hosted, hybrid and decentralized setups, or DataHub Cloud as managed SaaS.SaaS; now part of Snowflake. Plans outside Snowflake are not stated.
PricingDataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users.

Source: AWS Marketplace: DataHub Cloud listing

Not published The pricing URL redirects to the homepage.

Source: Select Star pricing URL

Entry price$75,000 for 12 months (AWS Marketplace, up to 20 monthly active users)Not published

Which should you choose?

Choose DataHub if

  • you need many ways for agents to reach context
  • you need self-hosting, open source or in-warehouse deployment
  • Teams that want an open-source core or self-hosting, many agent interfaces and a large connector base

Choose Select Star if

  • you need lineage from the warehouse through BI to the agent
  • you want context built with little manual work
  • Snowflake-centric teams that want automated documentation and column-level lineage

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for AI agents, DataHub or Select Star?

On our default weights DataHub scores 8.02 and Select Star scores 5.77. The better fit depends on which criteria matter most to you; the weight-your-own page lets you change the weights.

Which costs less, DataHub or Select Star?

DataHub: DataHub Core is open source. DataHub Cloud has no list price on datahub.com; an AWS Marketplace listing (Discover & Govern) shows $75,000 for a 12-month contract with up to 20 monthly active users. Select Star: no prices published. We do not compare total cost because most of these prices are not published.

Can DataHub and Select Star be used together?

They cover different layers (Context platform and Catalog and governance), so they can sit side by side. The pages we read do not describe a direct integration between them.

Where next?